Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

gen4-uLCD-43DCT-CLB connection to Windows 10 PC via gen4-PA?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• gen4-uLCD-43DCT-CLB connection to Windows 10 PC via gen4-PA?

Guys,

I am having difficulty connecting a new gen4-uLCD-43DCT-CLB to a new Windows 10 PC (Surface Pro 4) via the gen4-PA. I am new to Windows 10.

I have installed the driver from http://www.silabs.com/products/devel...ge-vcp-drivers as instructed. I have updated the driver via Windows device manager and upon doing so, am informed there is a problem with the device (see attached).

Click image for larger version

Name:	error_driver_13jul17.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	561.1 KB
ID:	58792

None the less the display powers up and shows the splash screen when connected to the PC via USB. There are no signs of life on the gen4-PA however I have no reason to believe it is not working.

I am unable to establish a connection via Workshop4 in ViSi Genie to test the connection (see attached).

Name:	error_comms_noport_17jul17.jpg
Size:	612.9 KB
ID:	58793

Is this likely to be a driver/power/hardware problem? Has anyone successfully connected such a device in this way?

Kind regards.

Hello,

This usually works fine. Have you tried restarting windows and then going to device manager to see if the gen4-PA shows up as a com port. If the driver cannot start then for sure you won't be able to communicate with the display.

Best regards

Paul

Comment

Thanks Paul,

Yes, I figured it should work fine.

I had already restarted the PC several times before seeking assistance in addition to updating the driver as mentioned (the initial driver installation did not work and gave the same error). I have since restarted the PC several times however the issue remains (see attached).

Name:	error_driver_16jul17.jpg
Size:	1.06 MB
ID:	58831

Should LED1 on the gen4-PA be lit or show any signs of life during the connection process? The display still powers up OK.

Kind regards

Comment