Manchester Encoding

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Manchester Encoding

I'm planning to use the UARTs in conjunction with OOK RF transmitters and receivers to communicate between two Diablo modules. I'm not a RF person, but read that the bitstream should have a zero DC component and that Manchester encoding is the way to achieve this. It appears that I need to break each byte into nibbles and construct a Manchester encoded byte for each nibble, then write these bytes to the UART transmit buffer . . . with the inverse process at the receiver end.

I'm unclear at this point about the best header/footer approach.

Is this the best encoding approach?

Might there be a Designer example of this encoding and decoding and other details of data packet construction?

Thanks,
    Hunter

A complete novice to noisy channel data communications, my Manchester encoding question is clearly only the tip of the iceberg.

But, for anyone interested, I found that this article provides enough information to implement Manchester: http://www.quickbuilder.co.uk/qb/articles/
    I'm sure there are others, but the translation from the C code in this article to Designer code was easy.

Again, just for interest . . .

My project includes two Diablo modules. The master module is a hand held unit (6"x4"x1.5") which provides a variety of functions associated with amateur astronomy viewing. It looks like this:

Click image for larger version

Name:	27s.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	61.9 KB
ID:	59863