Controlling cool gauge from 4DGL code

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Controlling cool gauge from 4DGL code

I'm brand new to 4DGL and the PICASO, so go easy on me! Here's what I'm trying to do:
    I'm using a gen4-uLCD-24PT and I'm trying to display an engine's RPM on a cool gauge object using ViSi (not ViSiGenie).
    Click image for larger version

Name:	CoolGauge.png
Views:	1
Size:	19.2 KB
ID:	59120
    The actual engine RPMs run from 0 - about 4500, but because of the small screen size we're using, I couldn't have the gauge go from 0 - 5000, the digits looked way to crammed in there. So I'm having to display the RPMs in thousands of RPMs (i.e. a real engine RPM of 3250 should set the needle's position to 3.25). I want the digit field at the bottom of the gauge to display the raw number (i.e a real RPM of 3250 should display 3250, not 3.25). How do I go about doing this?

I'm trying to find and read through the documentation for the cool gauge, and from what I've found, I'm making the following assumptions (obviously correct me if I'm wrong!):
    - I think that when I inserted a cool gauge into my project, that Workshop automatically generated a bunch of image frames for the gauge with the needle at various positions?
    - I think I need to access those images via img_SetWord(hndl, iRevButton, IMAGE_INDEX,FRAME_NUMBER) where "FRAME_NUMBER" is the correct image based on my actual value?

Assuming that's right, how do I calculate what frame number corresponds to my raw value? I don't know enough yet to know how many frames were generated.
    How do I set the text value to my raw value separately from the RPM / 1000 value that needs to be set for the needle?

If my assumptions are wrong, I'd appreciate knowing how to do this!

If it matters, these are the properties of the cool gauge object
    Coolgauge
    Name RPMGauge
    Alias Coolgauge1
    Arc.Color 0xFFEFE0
    Arc.Opacity 200
    Arc.StartAngle 135
    Arc.StopAngle 405