"Render" Strategies

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "Render" Strategies

I'm new to this kind of displays (160Oled) ( only used 2x16 character lcds before) and have some questions:

I want to draw fullscreen indicators that need to be rebuild to a significant part, not just a few pixels, each cycle. So it seemed the logical way for me to clear the screen each cycle and execute the whole drawing code. I made a very simple test, consiting just of a filled circle that grows and shrinks in radius with each cycle. So my code writes the circle command (after initializing of course), waits 100ms and then clears the screen and then writes the circle command again with different radius ... and so on.
    So I have about 10fps to draw. What happens when i execute the code is that i just get a flickering display thats black most of the time...
    When I change from CLS to drawing a black rectangle the size of the screen it works better but i think for each 100ms of circle I see about 50ms of black screen which makes the whole animation horrible to look at.
    Of course a strategy would be to think more about the actual drawing and change only the pixels necessary... something like the difference between the new and the old frame..... but shouldn't there be a more elegant solution.... like telleing the display conttroller first all the commands to assemble the frame... and then only pass the final result to the actual display matrix???
    Are there other functions to use in my case than CLS or draw a black rectangle... perhaps I#m missing something? Or is it just that the SGC OLEds are not suitable for that kind of application. However putting pure text to the display at 10fps is no problem at all and looks good...... And and in the promo video everything seems to be possible :-)

Thanks for any suggestions

Elias

It's all certainly possible, we just need to understand what you are trying to achieve and how.

Firstly what are you using GFX/4DGL or SGC?