Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parameter file on SD card

Hi,

Sorry if my question seems obvious but I'm a total newbie with 4DGL, and more generally with embedded programming and low-level languages.

I need to be able to store parameters for my program within a PARAM file in my microSD card. The parameters, stored in plain text, will likely be separated by CRLF, but without a fixed length.

Since the file_Read() function will only allow me to retrieve the whole content of the file at once, how can I retrieve the individual parameters? In my opinion, splitting the read string in substrings cut at each CRLF would be the fanciest solution, but I can't find any documentation about a function which can do that.
    Another way would be to read every parameter in the file one by one, but how can I stop the reading when reaching a CRLF?

Thank you for your help

Hi,

Welcome to the forum!

I made a simple project that is related to your concern. This project demonstrates how to create a PARAM file, reads/displays the contents of the file in the terminal, retrieve the parameter and it is a good start in your case.

I used ViSi Environment.

You could try the simple project I have attached, if you have time.
    Also, if you have questions regarding with the project, please don't hesitate to ask.

Hopefully, this will help you.

Best regards,
    Kayven
    Attached Files

Comment

Thank you a lot for your answer, I haven't thought of reading every character one by one. I have two remaining questions:
      - Since my buffer will be an array of characters, I guess I can use the whole array as a string, like [STR]buffer0?
      - The file is never closed by the file_Close() function. Is it on purpose?

Best regards

Comment

Hello again,

Oh! anytime, willing to help you.

Since my buffer will be an array of characters, I guess I can use the whole array as a string, like [STR]buffer0?