Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Will 4D release programming info for the .AD4 file conversion?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Will 4D release programming info for the .AD4 file conversion?

I have downloaded the free utility for converting files to .AD4 format, and found it to be lacking in certain features. While exploring, I noticed that the software installs a dll called "codec.dll". This is clearly the DLL that does the actual audio conversion.

Can 4D release some documentation on using this DLL in custom programs? I am a programmer with plenty of experience and have used 3rd party DLLs in my programs in the past. However, without some sort of documentation on the functions and procedures contained within the DLL (and the parameters passed, return values, etc), it's a needlessly difficult undertaking. Just releasing the C header file that corresponds to the DLL would be a huge help. The other bit of information needed would be the .AD4 file format, unless the codec handles creating the output file as well.

Releasing this information on using the DLL and the .AD4 file format won't compromise the value of the SOMO module. The information is of absolutely no use without buying the module, so it won't cut into sales at all. In fact, it could potentially increase sales if the developer community could develop a better piece of software.

Thanks,
    PeterM

Apologies for the delayed response. Rather than document the Dll, how about we provide a command line program that can be called from any program called “AD4CONVERTER”? Please find attached the exe file..

- Double click AD4CONVERTER.exe to see the command set help.
    - Say you have a wav file at C:\WavFiles\Track1.wav
    - Open a Command window
    - Get to the root location where you copied AD4CONVERTER.exe
    - Write the command which can be in following format,
    AD4CONVERTER –E4 C:\WavFiles\Track1.wav