Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Strange display chaos when adding a single line of code (some internal compiler bug?)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Strange display chaos when adding a single line of code (some internal compiler bug?)

Hello, this is my first time here, so please let me know if I'm posting something incorrectly...
    I was doing some code on the DESIGNER. No graphics over the SD card, just plain sequential code.
    Adding one single extra line to it, causes the display to go completely berzerk... Commenting ANY other line that already worked fine, seems to make it work OK again.
    Somehow, the compiler goes avry when adding more code to the main file. ANd from there on, the display remains chaotic and with repeating strings, etc.
    Could someone of the administrators check this apparently obviously identified bug. please? I cannot continue like this.
    Some data that could help:
    - No Errors, code size = 2096 bytes out of 32750 total
    - Initial RAM size = 200 bytes out of 32768 total
    - Program will run from ram so total initial RAM size = 2296 bytes out of 32768 total
    - downloading to RAM or FLASH, doesn't make any difference
    - Gen4-uLCD-24DT
    - Workshop4 IDE Version 4.5.0.17
    - Screenshots attached
    - Project attached

Chaos when adding code: OK when commenting that code:
    Click image for larger version  Name:	CHAOS.JPG Views:	1 Size:	389.9 KB ID:	63020 Click image for larger version  Name:	OK.JPG Views:	1 Size:	361.5 KB ID:	63021

This clearly seems to be a COMPILER problem...

THanks in advance,
    Pedro Kulzer @KulzerTEC
    Last edited by pkulzer; 24th April 2018, 09:46 AM.

The first pass of the compiler tries to reduce strings to single occurrences by scanning the 'ROM' area of code for an existing occurrence and, if found, simply sets the string address to the found 'duplicate' and continuing.