4DGL - Flash size - Read from MMC

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 4DGL - Flash size - Read from MMC

Hi i am new at 4DGL. I have a uLCD-32PT display and i was using it whit SGC commands but i see you can do a lot more whit GFX LCD and get free the microcontrollator from a lot of work. I think the program is written in the Picasso Flash which size is 12K, how much program i can write in 12K, i have to do a complex interface whit a lot of menus and the LCD will take information through the UART from the microcontroller i dont know if i can write all the program in the LCD and the workshop doesnt tell me how much memory i am using at the moment.
    Can i save the program in the MMC instead of the Flash and execute it as an script? Is the same an script and a program writed in the Flash?
    Thanks you

When you compile the compiler tells you how much memory you have used, eg

No Errors, code size = 2958 bytes (15360 available).

Most programs easily fit in the available space, but, if, as you say, you need a complex interface, you may need to make use of file_LoadFunction, file_Run and/or file_Exec, which is for running programs / subroutines / functions from MMC
    Mark

Comment

This commands according to the manual read a program from the MMC and save it to RAM and then execute it from the RAM, what happend if the program is larger than the RAM size? It automatically copy pieces of the program and execute it or generates an error? Can an script do all the things a 4DGL program does? It would be great to implement something like an script but for 4DGL but no copying to RAM, the program execution will be slower but it will allow user to generate larger interfaces.
      PD: for some reason workshop only show me the program size when i compile a script, but when i compile a 4DGL program it only shows No Errors

Comment

If the program is too big for RAM it reports an error.