µLCD-144(GFX) Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• µLCD-144(GFX) Question

I would like to buy the µLCD-144(GFX) to get it to play videos.

I have very little knowledge of electronics though I do play with PIC Chips.

This will be the first time ever playing with LCDs.

I looked at the data and it says:
    "Note: You can always switch between GFX and SGC by installing the PmmC file from the product page."

What is GFX and SGC ? Does it matter to me ?
    I just want it to be able to play videos stored in an SD card and maybe two input buttons for prev and next.
    If I don't press anything, the video will loop.

Have a look here:-
    http://www.4dsystems.com.au/prod.php?id=120
    and click on the "GFX or SGC" tab for an explanation.
    Regards,
    Dave

Comment

Thank you

What is the default Pmmc that the LCD will be delivered to me in ?
      SGC or GFX [This is what I would want from the description.]

Comment

They are promoted as separate products.
        uLCD-144(GFX): http://www.4dsystems.com.au/prod.php?id=120uLCD-144(SGC): http://www.4dsystems.com.au/prod.php?id=121

Strongly recommend you get a programming cable for pmmc updates and for downloading your 4DGL compiled code in to the module.
        Atilla

Comment

Thank you Atilla.

So I get this:
          http://shop.4dsystems.com.au/4dgl-display-modules/259-3010.html

and this:
          http://shop.4dsystems.com.au/usb-to-serial-converters/288-4d-programming-cable.html
          [I suppose this cable is use if I want to program by connecting it to my Computer's USB ?]

That "cable" is the programmer ? or it attached to an actual programmer...
          Do I need to get the programmer ? or the LCD IS the programmer too ?

Sorry these are very new to me and I have questions

Comment