Want to use uVGA as an Terminal

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Want to use uVGA as an Terminal

Hi there,i want to use uVGA as an textbased (old-style) Terminal.
    Playing around with the FAT-program i found out that there is no way (that i found)
    to scroll the lines with characters fast enough
    up, to make place for a new lower line.
    At the moment i use the uVGA-SGC firmware.
    Has anyone wrote an program for fast scrolling text for the uVGA-GFX?
    Unfortunately i have no experiences in programming in C or 4DGL.

Best Regards,
    Frank

This guy has shown how to do it in 4DGL http://4d.websitetoolbox.com/post?id=5263756

You can't get access to the relevant registers in SGC to do it there (at any rate you'd still need code to drive SGC somewhere else, why not do it all in 4DGL?)
    Mark

Comment

Thanks for your answer,
      the example of scrolling from autologic works fine.
      But why is it not possible to include a hand full instructions in SGC "language" for adjust the pointer of the grafic-chip relative to display-RAM?

Frank

Comment

It is possible.

It just seemed that for a terminal style application you would be better off using 4DGL.

Surely it's easier to write a 4DGL program to do this than try and do it using SGC commands?
        Mark

Comment

But as write above, i have no experiences in programming 4DGL.
          Yesterday i looked how the example from autologic works and how it is realized in 4DGL. i understand, that i have to learn for a long time the 4DGL language.
          My project is a very little one, so i want to spent not too many time for this.

Frank

Comment

Hi Frank,