Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

[Update: BUG][Workaround Found]Reading and writing to files not working properly

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Update: BUG][Workaround Found]Reading and writing to files not working properly

Hey guys, I am relatively new to the world of coding so this may be a simple fix, but so far I haven't been able to figure this out.
    My program is essentially taking data from the serial port, storing it in a file, then reading it from that file when I want to display that data.
    The problem is that when I read and display the data I stored in the file it isn't the same as what I was attempting to store. Now, if the file I am writing to doesn't exist and is created by the program it stores the data fine the first time. It's only when I'm appending to an existing file that the problem arises. I am using the first space in the file to store how many sets of data I have.
    If you run this program you can see the problem by going into the compass page, hitting store at least twice, and then going back to the SD read page where it is displaying the data it stored.
    I am using a uOLED-32028-P1_GFX2
    I uploaded the full program and here are the relevant functions[HTML]
    func AddLine(var XX, var YY, var heading)
    lineStorageCount++; lineStorageX[lineStorageCount] := XX; lineStorageY[lineStorageCount] := YY; lineStorageHeading[lineStorageCount] := heading-90;

// ############################## // ### STORING NEW LINE ON SD ### // ############################## if (!file_Exists("storage5.txt")) variableFile := file_Open("storage5.txt", 'a');
    file_PutW(lineStorageCount, variableFile);
    file_PutW(lineStorageX[lineStorageCount], variableFile); file_PutW(lineStorageY[lineStorageCount], variableFile); file_PutW(lineStorageHeading[lineStorageCount], variableFile);
    else
    variableFile := file_Open("storage5.txt", 'a');
    var HIptr, LOptr, res;