Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• picking out data from a string

hi every 1.

Basically I have a 4 byte string coming in from my "Serin". I store this string to a "var" e.g "var incoming". Storing the string isn't a problem but I can't seem to split up each byte as an individual byte and assign a pointer to it.

So var incoming = 3982. And I need to be able to read each byte individually. I.e
    a=3 b=9 c=8 d=2.

Hope I've been clear. I'm very new to all of this, Thanks!

See this thread, it may help.....http://4d.websitetoolbox.com/post/four-bytes-to-BCD-String-5393719
    Keep in mind that the 4DGL uses 16 bit integers, so to hold 4 bytes would require two of them.....

Comment

Just read your question a bit more carefully. Are you saying the value coming in is already in it's BCD form? For example the "value" 3982 comes in as four bytes, first byte = 3, second byte =9, third = 8, fourth =2? Or are they coming in as Ascii 51, 57, 56, 50?
      Or, are they coming in as 4 bytes = 0,0,15,142?

Comment

Sorry, The "3982" is coming in as Ascii "51, 57, 56, 50"I'm then converting that into CHAR using [CHR] so when i print "incoming" It prints as "3982".
        Its the "3982 that I want to break down and assign a "var" to e.g: A=3, B=9 C=8, D=2.

Here is the code I have so far..
        //=====================================#platform "uLCD-43PT_GFX2"

func main() var imcoming;
        gfx_Cls(); txt_Set(FONT_SIZE, FONT2); print ("Serial Input Test\n");
        to(COM0); print("serial input test:\n");

// now just stay in a loop repeat
        imcoming := serin(); if (imcoming != -1) to(COM0); print([CHR]imcoming); endif foreverendfunc//=====================================

Comment

Well, once you have the 4 bytes (say, in an array called temparray), then

A:= temparray(0)-'0'; // This is same as 51-48B:= temparray(1)-'0';C:= temparray(2)-'0';D:= temparray(3)-'0';

Comment

Thanks for the quick reply but now im completely lost...