Intermittent UART failure

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Intermittent UART failure

I mistakenly posted in the old forum. I'll duplicate it here.
    I'm a developer and have been using the display, uOLED-160-G2. Recently I have been experiencing intermittent UART failures and have been unable to locate the source of the error. I have 10+ of these displays currently in use and the failure rate varies across these devices. Some hardly fail, others fail around 2-5 minutes of operation.

I started off with uOLED-160-G1 and first noticed this problem when using a switch mode wall wart. At the time, the problem only surfaced when not connected to an additional ground source (my programming cable or the on board USB connection). I temporarily fixed the problem by switching to a battery supply. This led me to believe it was a power issue but I couldn't find any issue with my supply. The uOLED-160-G2 was released shortly after and I upgraded and the problem seemed to go away until now.

I am still running off a battery supply (x4 series connected CR123's) through a 5v LDO regulator (ZLDO1117G50TA) and on to the display with a 22uF bypass cap. The display is connected through 6 feet of cable (shielded differential pair). The source is a dsPIC33e that uses two UART resources at a rate of 115.2K baud. One to the OLED and the other to a arduino pro mini, both go through the same cable, the same type of buffer, but on separate differential pairs. The arduino works without fault.

The buffer attaches information to the relevant command to be sent, for instance the TX length and the expected RX length. The buffer handler sends the command and then waits until the response buffer is filled and then determines the appropriate host response.