Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Connecting multiple Picadillos together

Hi guys

I am working on a project which requires using 3x Picadillos 35T as if it was a single continuous display.

One way to go about this would be to just listen to them via Serial Events, which will ultimately result in very messy coding.

I am no hardware expert but I am guessing this would be achievable via I2C. Any thoughts on good resources I could look into?

Thanks in advance
    Antonio

I'd be more inclined to down the serial route, not sure why you think it would be messy, a two byte code (one byte 'address', one byte 'command') would be a relatively simple way to ensure all displays could share the same serial port.
    Mark

Comment

I didn't realize I could share the same serial port between multiple displays. Is there an example of the aforementioned byte code you could indicate? Arduino-based would suffice!

Thank you so much for the prompt reply.

Antonio

Comment

Provided only one device is transmitting (be it one of the three or a separate 'controller') and the rest are receiving (i.e. no 'acknowledge' sequence) everything will be fine

So the master's TX is connected to all the slaves RXs.

The master sends something like

0xaa, 0xnn (Address is aa, use 0xff for an 'all' address, Command is nn either common to all, or different between 'all' address and individual)

Slaves just listen, receive, decode and action.

Sorry, no example.
        Mark

Comment

Yes, serial is probably the easiest route to take at the moment. There have been a few issues around using the PIC32 as an I2C slave (as regards interrupts on stop bits or something, I'm not sure) and the main SPI library doesn't currently support slave mode.

So stick to serial is best.