Question on TX/RX ports for use with uLCD-43PT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question on TX/RX ports for use with uLCD-43PT

HI - I'm new to the uLCD-43PT so I apologize if this is a somewhat silly question. I am using a uLCD-43PT in a Arduino environment (MEGA 2560 R3). I wish to preserve the ability to post debug statements back to the Console in the Arduino IDE. By default the Arduino is using Digital pins D0/D1 for communication back through the USB to the IDE (as it does when loading a sketch down into the Arduino). As it stands right now I need to unplug the uLCD-43PT cable from the Arduino uLCD-43PT shield to be able to download a sketch, then plug in the uLCD-43PT and restart the Arduino. I have tried swapping the pins on the shield to D2/D3 and using Serial 1 by using the Serial 1 option in the genieBegin() call

// a few options to talk to the Display, uncomment the one you want
    // genieBegin (GENIE_SERIAL, 115200); //Serial0
    genieBegin (GENIE_SERIAL_1, 115200); //Serial1

but when I do this I free up the Arduino IDE to communicate with the uLCD-43PT without unplugging it however the uLCD-43PT fails to see any communications form the Arduino sketch (which works fine when I use D0/D1).

I feel I am missing an obvious step but for the life of me can't see what it is. Also, I fail to see how UART ports 3 and 4 (GENIE_SERIAL_2, GENIE_SERIAL_3) are utilized with the uLCD-43PT shield since the jumpers only support D0/D1 or D2/D3.

Thanks in advance,
    Pete

Hi Pete

Most of the 4D Team is on Holiday, so I will attempt to answer.