Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Driving uLCD-24PTU using Proton Basic

Hello all,

I’m new with the 4D System. I bought a ULCD-24PTU and love the way it can be setup with Visi-Genie.

Where I am stuck is on how to send simple data to the unit using the serout and serin and particularly how the data are structured. I have read a lt of documentation and getting confuse because the are either in C or Arduino.

If I want to send a data byte to my Leddigit2 or read my winbutton0 have been press or not how do I write the serial

Serout port , 9600 [ OutputData ]

or

Serin
    Rpin , 9600, { Timeout
    , Tlabel
    , } [ InputData ]

How do I enter my outputdata or inputdata. When I get this understood, I’m sure I will figure all the rest I just need a push start here. Many thanks,

Regards,

Yves

Use GTX to play with your program, that shows you the hexcodes that are sent and received from the display. You just need to emulate that in your program. Once you have looked at a few exchanges the codes in the Genie Reference manual should make more sense.
    Mark

Comment

Thanks Mark,
      But frankly is there is any one that can make a veryconcrete and simple example on how to write a serial command to write a string of for example "hello Word" using the serout command? The visi genie reference manual said that you have to write a CMD, object ID, object index and chksum. Where on earth do I find all these? Please I need help to get started. Many thanks.
      Regards,

Yves

Comment

I don't understand, it's all in the ViS-Genie reference manual.

P11 is "2.1.3.3 Write String (ASCII) Message" and says

It then goes on to describe what each of those values are. STR-INDEX is the Genie String number, the first string object is called 'String0' so its index is 0.

If I use GTX and click 'Send' on the strings object and type in 'Hello World' I get

Set String Text Value 08:02:41.464 [02 00 0B 48 65 6C 6C 6F 20 57 6F 72 6C 64 29]