Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MicroSD Card Write

Hello everyone,

I am an engineering college student trying to create a code for saving gyroscope data to the on-board microSD card. I have had no luck in trying to find any sample code to do this. Can anyone give me some help? What commands do I need to use? Anyone have a sample code?

Thanks

Hi Chessmaster,

This appnote might offer a lot of help:

ViSi Read and Write to microSD
    http://www.4dsystems.com.au/appnote/4D-AN-00077/

Also you might want to explore the FAT16 functions in the internal functions manual.

For PICASO: (page 203)
    http://www.4dsystems.com.au/productp...ons_R_6_20.pdf

For Diablo16: (page 302)
    http://www.4dsystems.com.au/productp...ons_R_1_16.pdf

Best Regards,

Comment

Thanks for the reply. One more question. Do you have to have a FAT16 microsd card or can it be FAT32 for writing to? I have a 8gb microsd but it is only FAT32 and I want to know if I can use it.

Comment

Hi Chessmaster,

We recommend these kind of SD cards: (You might want ti get similar kinds, SPI Compatibility is important)

http://www.4dsystems.com.au/product/uSD_4GB_Industrial/

You might be able to use your 8gb uSD if you partition the first 4gb into FAT16 (max is up to 4gb).

You could also you the RMPET tool and this appnote for partitoning the uSD card:
        http://www.4dsystems.com.au/download...042_R_1_01.pdf

Best Regards,

Comment

Thank you. Alright I have looked at the PICASO list of functions. Can anyone provide more details and some guidance on how to save data captured using gyroscope sensors to the microSD card built in. Any help would be appreciated!

Comment

When trying to write a string to a file on the microSD card, can you use the file_PutS command? Every time I try to do this I just get an error that says file_PutS is not declared in this scope. Anyone know how to help?

Comment