Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with "OnOffLedGui" code, project PythonCode_4D-CD-00155

Hi,

I'm new to using the IDLE program to use the GPIOs, and having copied the nice LED on/off project (PythonCode_4D-CD-00155 by Symon), am getting a load of error messages about nameErrors... I've copied it word for word with no typos, using the IDLE available via the LXterminal on the Armadillo.

I updated and upgraded the 43T yesterday, so guess that is up-to-date. My Armadillo-43T is running IDLE under:

Python 2.7.3 (default, Jun 22 2016, 03:14:32)
    [GCC 4.6.3] on linux2

In Python "about" window it says "Python version: 2.7.3 Tk version: 8.5"

Evidently, when I try to run it out of curiosity, knowing it will not work, the pop-up appears which reads: "There's an error in your program: invalid syntax"

Below are the messages I get whilst writing the code:

app = ABC(master = root)
    nameError: name 'ABC' is not defined

app.master.title("GPIO sample")
    nameError: name 'app' is not defined

B1 = Button(app, text = "turn on green LED", bg = "blue", activebackground = "blue", width = 15, borderwidth = 2, relief
    = SOLID, command = LED1)

B1.place(relx = 0.5, rely = 0.3, anchor = "c")
    nameError: name 'B1' is not defined

B2 = Button(app, text = "turn on yellow LED", bg = "yellow", activebackground = "yellow", width = 15, borderwidth = 2,
    relief = SOLID, command = LED1)

B2.place(relx = 0.5, rely = 0.5, anchor = "c")
    nameError: name 'B2' is not defined

quitButton = Button(app, text = "quit", bg = "white", activebackground = "white", width = 15, borderwidth = 2, relief =
    SOLID, command = exit)

quitButton.pack(side = Bottom)
    nameError: name 'quitbutton' is not defined

app.mainloop()