Device is not responding ??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Device is not responding ??

Hi - this is my first attempt with a 4d systems display, and it all sounded very easy to get to work - but I seem to be failing at the first hurdle....

I have a gen4-uLCD-32DT, connected with the supplied FFC to the supplied adapter board.

This is then connected to a UUSB-PA5-II which is then connected to my PC.

The screen has powered up, and is displaying a splash type screen, telling me the following ...

gen4-uLCD-32DT
    SPE2 rev 1.2
    PmmC rev 2.0
    Comms 9600

My PC has found 'COM15'

I've installed Workshop4, and it has also found COM15.

But.. when I click the red status indicator, it turns yellow, the screen reboots, the LED on the PA5 flashes once or twice, and then Workshop 4 reports 'Device is not responding'

What am I doing wrong ??

Thanks

Hello,

Welcome to the forum.

From your description you don't seem to have done anything wrong. One thing you could check is that the FPC is the right way which I am sure it is as your are clearly getting the reset signal though wheb you scan. The blue part of the FPC should be downwards and not visible when inserted into the connector. You could also check that the FPC connector is all the way in. Another thing to check is that COM 15 isn't being used by anything else.

You can also check the display is communicating by starting a new project choosing your display, then click on Serial as a programming environment. You can then click on the Tools tab and then Serial commander. It will hopefully connect to COM 15. Click on the gfx tab and then gfx_Cls and then send.

I hope this helps

Best regards

Paul

Comment

Hi Paul,

Thanks for your help.

I checked the FPC, and it does have the blue tab facing down at both ends - I don't think the display would power up if it was the other way up ?