Serial commands

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Serial commands

Hello i am new With a 4d hmi, i would like to assign to button a serial Commander output, so that i can read the comand and use It with a microcontrollers.
    also Is possibile to read the tx output of display with a terminal??
    Thank you carmine

Hello Carmine,

Welcome to the forum.

May I know what Workshop4 environment you plan to use?

As you may know, the Workshop4 IDE has 4 Environments; Designer, ViSi, Serial and ViSi-Genie.

Serial and ViSi-Genie are both host dependent platforms, they are designed to interact with a host microcontroller.

In a nutshell, ViSi-Genie is more beginner friendly however, it could be a bit restricting.

The Serial environment, on the other hand, may require a bit more skill but it gives you more freedom as to what you can do with your display.

Is possible to read the tx output of display with a terminal??
    If you're using ViSi-Genie, this can easily be done with the Genie test Executor (GTX).

This Application Note might provide more Clarity.

ViSi-Genie onChanging and onChanged Events
    https://www.4dsystems.com.au/appnote/4D-AN-00002/

I hope this helps.

Best regards.
    Michael

Comment

Thank you Michael, yes i Will use visi genie, in case i want to directly output my serial uart comands, wich environment and wich program language i should use? I know c++
      the display i am using is ; gen4-mlcd-24dt.
      I Just Need set up 3 button switch and a slider .
      ​​​​thank you carmine

Comment

Hi Carmine,

May I know why you want to see the actual data that is coming out of your display?

As described on the application note that I previously linked, you can monitor the data output stream of your display with the GTX.

If your using ViSi Genie, this data stream follows a certain pattern which is the Genie standard protocol.

You may find more information about that on the ViSi-Genie User guide.

ViSi-Genie User guide