Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Distorted image on GEN4 4DCAPE 50CT CLB with BeagleBone Black Wireless

Hi.
    I just bought GEN4 4DCAPE 50CT CLB and I want to use it with brand new BBBW.
    When I connect the cape and the display using the flex cable and boot Debian 9.9 (or 9.11), everything seems to be working except one annoying detail - the image is distorted.

It seems like some of the lines are shifted few pixels to the left making text on the display indecipherable.

It is obviously some interference from the outside, because when I touch the flex cable with my fingers, the distortion gets worse. I created short video to demonstrate the issue:
    https://youtu.be/qKLuBbnGtnI

Is this normal? Am I making some rookie mistake?

I am new to 4D capes and to BeagleBone, but have many years of experience with RaspberryPi.

Thank you very much for any suggestions.
    Regards
    Jan
    Last edited by jeza08; 14 January 2020, 07:27 PM.

Hi Jan,

Welcome to the forum!

Thank you for the video you attached.
    Can you check if the FFC cable is properly latched on both ends (Display and Adaptor Board)?

Please let us know.

Best Regards,
    Kevin

Comment

Hi Kevin.
      Yes, it is. That was the first thing I checked. I released the latches on both sides, disconnected the cable completely, carefully inserted the cable back in on both sides (the blue side facing the board on each end) and locked the latches again. I don't think the connection could be any better.

I thought there could be some interference with the boards WIFI module, but this was not confirmed. I disabled the WIFI using:
      sudo connmanctl
      disable wifi

No change. The image is still distorted...

Best regards
      Jan

Comment

Hi Jan,

Thank you for your reply.

Could you open a support ticket here: https://4dsystems.com.au/contact/, so we can verify some information in your display.

Best Regards,
        Kevin

Comment

Hi Kevin.