Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using the uLCD-90DCT to navigate a large/multi-level list

Hi,

My plan is to use the ULCD-90DCT display as a touch panel to configure MIDI sound modules which normally consists of multiple sound banks (woodwind, strings piano, etc), and then sound patches per bank (~128 different instruments per bank). The patches would be assigned to MIDI channels and eventually be stored into presets and songs. We could use a repeating pattern, as you will notice with the 16 Winbuttons below. However, the captions would have to be dynamically assigned to reflect sound banks, patch list, presets, etc.

I assumed that the button caption is an attribute that I can set and overwrite with a Teensy via the serial port, but from what I see tonight, 'caption' is available in the IDE only which leaves me with a challenge.

I am new to 4D displays, and I see references to dynamic strings, inherent buttons, etc. but am now wondering if there is a good solution, or what the option would be to dynamically generate a list read from SD card on the Teensy, and sending captions for 16 buttons (or e.g. strings on top of an image or button) per page. I have no problem using multiple forms for the categories of functionality, but of course predefining objects for >5000 sounds from a sound module is not an option. The Teensy would read and track from the SD card, and forward 16 patch names at a time as we page through.

Of course I used Visi Genie for a quick start. Would one of the other options (Serial or Visi) that requires more coding enable me to do the above?

This display will also be used for real-time keyboard plan and configuration changes along with hardware encoders and switches.

Open to alternatives and welcome any suggestions you may have.

Appreciate your advice.

Anton

Click image for larger version  Name:	SoundModuleMenu.png Views:	0 Size:	28.2 KB ID:	73551
    Last edited by aminnie; 9 September 2020, 01:34 PM.

Hi,